Teton County

US States / M / Montana / Teton County

Teton County is named for the Teton Range, which is named for the French word “teton” meaning “beast”.


Created:   February 7, 1893

County Seat: 

Choteau   1893 – present


County Courthouse – Choteau  


Location:  101 Main Avenue / Division Street

Built:  1905 – 1906

Style:  Renaissance Revival

Architect:  John Gibson of Kalispell and George Shanley

Contractor:   Lease and Richards of Great Falls


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story gray colored sandstone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Choteau. The north front has a large square sandstone tower rising four stories with a steep roof. The fourth story has an open section with columns. On the first story, there is a large arch with recessed entrance. There are small east and west one story wings.



N – Pondera County

E – Choteau County

S – Cascade County and Lewis and Clark County

W – Lewis and Clark County and Flathead County





County Courthouse – Choteau













Photos taken 2009