Lewis and Clark County

US States / M / Montana / Lewis and Clark County
Lewis & CLark

Lewis and Clark County is named for Meriwether Lewis and William Clark, who were explores who traveled along the Missouri River.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Teton County

E – Cascade CountyMegher County and Broadwater County

S – Broadwater County and Jefferson County 

W – Powell County and Flathead County


Created:  February 2, 1865                    Map of Montana highlighting Lewis and Clark County

County Seat: 

Helena  1865 – present


County Courthouse –  Helena 


Location:  228 East Broadway Street / North Ewing Street

Built:  1886 – 1889

Style:  Romanesque Revival

Architect:  Hodgson, Willingford & Stem of St. Paul, Minnesota

Contractor:  Ryan & Brunton and John J Palmer of St. Paul. Minnesota.


Description:  The building faces north and is a three story rough stone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Helena. The north and south fronts have large arched entrances in the center sections. The exterior walls are Bayfield brownstone from Wisconsin and the interior has granite walls. There is a large courtroom. The Norman Clock tower was removed in 1935 after an earthquake. The tower, fourth-story gables and a heavy stone cornice, adornments of little use during the depression era, were not replaced.


See:  Located in the county is the Montana Supreme Court.




County Courthouse – Helena



















Photos taken 2011