Powell County

US States / H-L / Kentucky / Powell County

Powell County is named for Lazaus Whitehead Powell, who was the Governor of Kentucky from 1851 to 1855.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Montgomery County and Menifee County

E – Wolfe County

S – Lee County and Estill County

W – Clark County


Created:  January 7, 1852                      Map of Kentucky highlighting Powell County

County Seat: 

Stanton  1852 – present


County Courthouse – Stanton  


Location:  525 Washington Street / Court Street

Built:  1977 – 1978

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Chrisman, Miller and Wallace of Lexington

Contractor:  Breeden Construction Company of Lexington


Description:  The building faces southeast and is a one story dark brown-red colored brick square structure with a raised center section. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Stanton. The southeast front of the square shaped building has a recessed entrance with a single round brick pillar. The windows are horizontal and narrow. Atop the building is a large square tower with open area containing a bell and above is a clock. The roof line is flat. The building houses the County Circuit Court and County District Court of the 39th Judicial District. The Stanton City Hall is contained in the southwest corner of the building.


See:  The 39th Judicial Circuit includes Breathitt County, Powell County and Wolfe County.


History:  The county was created in 1852 and Stanton, fomerly Beaver Pond, was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built and burned in 1863 during the Civil War. The second courthouse was built after 1864. The third courthouse was a two story brick structure designed by Frank P Milburn and built in 1890. The courthouse was demolished. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1977 to 1978.




County Courthouse – Stanton




























Station City Offices – Stanton




Photos taken 2007 and 2014