Lee County

US States / H-L / Kentucky / Lee County

Lee County is named for Robert E. Lee, who was a Confederate general in the Civil War, and who lived from 1807 to 1870, or for Lee County in Virginia.


Created:  January 29, 1870

County Seat: 

Beattyville  1870 – present


County Courthouse – Beattyville  


Location:  256 Main Street / Center Street

Built:  1977 – 1978

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Wickman-Salle

Contractor:  Forbes Morris Building Company


Description:  The building faces south and is a three story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building faces south and was completed in 1978. The south front has three large two story arches. On the third story, there are three windows and a clock on the west section. The roof line is flat.


Note:  The previous courthouse was constructed by Pryse Brandenburg & McQuire  in 1871. An addition was constructed by Green Kilburn in 1916. The building was demolished. The iron fence in front of the present courthouse is all that remains of the old courthouse.



N – Estill County, Powell County and Wolfe County

E – Breathitt County

S – Owsley County

W – Jackson County and Estill County




















Photos taken 2007