Montgomery County

US States / H-L / Kentucky / Montgomery County

Montgomery County is named for Richard Montgomery, who was a military general killed at the Battle of Quebec, and who lived from 1736 to 1775.


Created:  December 14, 1796

County Seat: 

Mount Sterling  1796 – present


County Courthouse – Mount Sterling 


Location:  1 Court Street / North Maysville Street

Built:  1958 – 1960

Style:  Colonial Revival

Architect:  Meriwether, Marye and Associates

Contractor:  Alderman & Company


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The south front has a large portico supported by four large white colored columns rising to the pediment at the roof. A clock is at the center of the pediment. The entrance door is framed with white colored wood. Stonework forms the corner trim and the window headers. There is a small round white colored cupola on the center of the roof.


Note:  The previous courthouse was designed by B J Bartlett and constructed by J H Walker in 1890.  The building was demolished.



N – Bourbon County and Nicholas County

E – Bath County and Menifee County

S – Powell County

W – Clark County











Photos taken 2007