Clark County

US States / H-L / Kentucky / Clark County

Clark County is named for George Ross Clark, who was a soldier in the American Revolutionary War and who lived from 1752 to 1818.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Bourbon County

E – Montgomery County and Powell County

S – Estill County and Madison County

W – Fayette County


Created:  December 6, 1792                  Map of Kentucky highlighting Clark County

County Seat: 

Winchester 1792 – present


County Courthouse – Winchester


Location:  34 South Main Street / Cleveland Avenue

Built:  1853 – 1855

Style:  Greek Revival

Architect:  John McMurtry of Lexington

Contractor:  John McMurtry of Lexington


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story white colored stucco structure.  The building is located on the landscaped grounds of the Courthouse Square in the center of Winchester. The east front has a wide portico supported by two white colored columns rising to the pediment at the roof. The build is shaped like an “H”. In the center of the roof is a high square white colored cupola which rises in tiers to the clock. Above the clock is a round cupola with green colored round roof.  The courtroom is located on the second story. The building was remodeled in 1887. The architect was W R Brown of Crapsey and Brown. The building was renovated in 1938 to 1939 when the rear wing was added. The architect was John T Gillig. In 2018, the clock tower was removed and rebuilt. The architect was Tate/Hill/Jacobs Architects of Lexington and the contractor was Structural Systems Repair Group of Cincinnati, Ohio.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Clark County Courthouse


County Judicial Center  – Winchester




Location:  17 Cleveland Avenue / North Wall Ally

Built:  1912 – 1913

Style:  Neo-Classical

Architect:  Unknown

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story structure. The building has light colored stone with red colored title roof. Along the south front are six large columns rising to the second story. The building was constructed as a post office. The building was converted to the Judicial Center in 1991 and named as the Governor James Clark Judicial Center. The building was remodeled in 1990 to 1991. The architect was WMB Inc. and the contractor was Cordell Construction Inc.


History:  The county was created in 1792 and Winchester was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a log cabin built in 1794 at a cost of $16. The second courthouse was a two story brick structure built in 1797 and the third courthouse was built in 1821. In 1852, the Building Committee accepted the plans of John McMurty of Lexington and employed him to construct the fourth and present courthouse in 1853 to 1855.




County Courthouse – Winchester



















Clock Tower removed in 2018







County Judicial Center – Winchester
















Photos taken 2007 and 2018