Wolfe County

US States / H-L / Kentucky / Wolfe County

Wolfe County is named for Nathaniel Wolfe, who was a member of the Kentucky General Assembly, and who lived from 1808 to 1865.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Menifee County and Morgan County

E – Morgan County and Magoffin County

S – Breathitt County

W – Powell County 


Created:  March 5, 1860                         Map of Kentucky highlighting Wolfe County

County Seat: 

Campton  1860 – present


County Courthouse – Campton  


Location:  10 Court Street / Washington Street

Built:  1914 – 1917

Style:  Beaux Arts

Architect:  H L Lewman of Louisville

Contractor:  Falls City Construction Company of Louisville


Description:  The building faces south and is a is a two story red-orange colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Campton. At the south front is a large portico supported by four large white colored columns rising to the pediment at the roof with a gable which features a relief of a wolf. Atop the building is a large square dome with gold colored roof and a clock. The roof is hipped and on the wings the roof line is flat. The courtroom is located on the second story. Wings were added to the east and west sides of the building in 1977. The architect and contractor was Federick & May Construction Company.


See:  The contractor Falls City Construction Company of Louisville, Kentucky


County Judicial Center – Campton  




Location:  11 Johnson Street / Main Street

Built:  2010 – 2012

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Bradsetter Carroll Inc. of Lexington

Contractor:  Codell Construction Company of Winchester


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Campton to the west of the courthouse. The east front has a central one story portico supported by four columns. On the south side is a square tower with high arched window, rising above the roof line with clock and pediment at the top. The bottom part of the building is white colored concrete with red colored brick at the center part and white colored concrete below the flat roof line. 


See:  The contractor was Codell Construction Company of Winchester which company constructed many courthouse in Kentucky ( see  Louisville ).


History:  The county was created in 1860 and Campton, formerly called Camp Town was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a log structure built after 1860. The second courthouse was a brick structure built in 1869 at a cost of $11,000. The courthouse was renovated in 1885 and burned on December 26, 1886. The third courthouse was built by G T Center and Jim Hall in 1887 at a cost of $7,000. The courthouse also burned on May 29, 1913. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1914 to 1917. The County Judicial Center was constructed in 2010 to 2012.




County Courthouse – Campton


































County Judicial Center – Campton




















Photos taken 2007 and 2014