Harrison County

US States / H-L / Kentucky / Harrison County

Harrison County is named for Benjamin Harrison, who was the co-author of the Kentucky Constitution, and who lived from 1726 to 1791.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Grant County and Pendleton County

E – Bracken County and Robertson County

S – Nicholas County and Bourbon County

W – Scott County


Created:  December 21, 1793                Map of Kentucky highlighting Harrison County

County Seat: 

Cynthiana 1793 – present


County Courthouse – Cynthiana


Location:  111 Main Street / Joe B Hall Court

Built:  1851 – 1853

Style:  Greek Revival

Architect:  John Huddleston

Contractor:  John Huddleston and later, R M Calhoun and William B Calhoun


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story white colored stucco structure. The east front has a large portico supported by four large white colored columns rising to the pediment at the roof. The entrance has a white wood frame and arch. The second story windows are long and narrow. On the roof above the entrance is a octagonal white cupola with clock. The clock and bell tower were added in 1856. In 1877, north and south wings were added and two wings were added in 1914. The architect was John T Gillig. The building was renovated in 2019. The architect was Brandstetter Carroll Inc. of Lexington and the contractor was Trace Creek Company of Vanceburg.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Harrison County Courthouse


County Justice Center – Cynthiana




Location:  115 Court Street / Joe B Hall Court

Built:  2000 – 2002

Style:  Modern

Architect:  CMW Inc. of Lexington

Contractor:  Codell Construction Company of Winchester


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Cynthiana on the south side of the courthouse. The north front of the rectangular shaped building has a large portico supported by four large white colored columns rising to a pediment at the roof line. There are three entrance doors with small pediments above. On either side of the portico are small projects with double white colored columns on the second story and pediments at the roof line. 


See:  The contractor was Codell Construction Company of Winchester which company constructed many courthouse in Kentucky ( see  Louisville ).


See:  The 18th Judicial Circuit includes Harrison County, Nicholas CountyPendleton County and Robertson County.


History:  The county was created in 1793 and Cynthiana was selected as the county seat. The first county courthouse was a two story log structure erected in 1795. The building was sold to pay for the second courthouse which was built in 1816 at a cost of $12,000. The courthouse was destroyed by fire on January 24, 1851. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1851 to 1853. The County Justice Center was constructed in 2000 to 2002 at a cost of $6,075,000.




County Courthouse - Cynthiana 

























County Justice Center - Cynthiana 















Photos taken 2007 and 2018