Nicholas County

US States / H-L / Kentucky / Nicholas County

Nicholas County is named for George Nicholas, who was a colonel during the American Revolutionary War.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Harrison County and Robertson County

E – Fleming County

S – Bath County

W – Bourbon County 


Created:  December 18, 1799                Map of Kentucky highlighting Nicholas County

County Seat: 

Lower Blue Licks  1800 – 1805

Ellisville                1805 – 1816

Carlisle                 1816 – present


County Courthouse – Carlisle


Location:  125 East Main Street / North Locust Street

Built:  1892 – 1893

Style:  Romanesque and Second Empire

Architect:  Erion

Contractor:  James George and Robert George


Description:  The building faces  south and is a three story dark red colored brick and stone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds of Court Square in the center of Carlisle. The south front has a projecting center section with large stone trimmed arch on the first story. Above is a high stone trimmed arch with windows on the second and third stories. Behind, rises a two story clock tower with dome at the top. The corners of the building are trimmed with stone as are the headers on the windows. The roof is sloped and the foundation is stone. The architect was Erion and the contractor was James George and Robert George. The stone mason was Max Metzer. The building was remodeled in 1974 and in 1997.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Carlisle Historic District


History:  The county was created in 1799 and Lower Blue Licks became the county seat in 1800. The first court met at the home of Martin Baker, Jr. at Lower Blue Licks in 1800. The county seat was moved to Ellisville in 1804 and the first courthouse, a log structure was built. In 1816, the county seat was moved to Carlisle and the log courthouse was moved to Carlisle and used until the second courthouse, a brick structure was built in 1816 to 1818. The third courthouse was a brick and stone structure built in 1844. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1892 to 1893.




County Courthouse – Carlisle













Photos taken 2007 and 2014