Robertson County

US States / H-L / Kentucky / Robertson County

Robertson County is named for George Robertson, who was chief justice of the Kentucky court of appeals.


Created:  February 11, 1868

County Seat: 

Mount Olivet   1868 – present


County Courthouse – Mount Olivet  


Location:  26 Court Street / East Walnut Street

Built:  1872 – 1873

Style:  Federalist

Architect:  G W Williams

Contractor:  G W Williams


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story red colored brick and wood structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds with the Justice Center on the east and the County Administration on the west. .The south front has a central entrance on the first story with arched windows on each side. The second story has smaller arched windows with a small peak at the roof line. On the center of the roof is a square white colored  wood cupola. .


Note:  The courthouse is the first and only courthouse to serve Robertson County. The contract was awarded to G.M. Williams, a local builder, who was also credited with its design. Mid-way through construction the city found they did not have the funds to complete the project so the F. & A.M. Masons Blue Lodge Chapter donated the money for the second story which was reserved for there use. At the time of construction the courthouse was said to be the only brick structure in the county.


County Justice Center – Mount Olivet  




Location:  26 Court Street / East Walnut Street

Built:  2009 – 2010

Style:  Modern

Architect:  GWR, Inc

Contractor:  Trace Creek Company of Vanceburg.


Description:  The building faces east and  On the east side is a new one story addition. The building is located on landscaped ground on the east side of the courthouse.



N – Bracken County

E – Mason County and Fleming County

S – Nicholas County

W – Harrison County






County Courthouse













County Justice Center













Photos taken 2012 and 2018