Henry County

US States / H-L / Iowa / Henry County

Henry County is named for Henry Dodge, who was the governor of the Wisconsin Territory or for James Dougherty Henry, who was a general in the Black Hawk War.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Washington County and Louisa County

E – Louisa County and Des Moines County

S – Lee County

W – Van Buren County and Jefferson County


Created:  December 7, 1836                  Map of Iowa highlighting Henry County

County Seat:

Mount Pleasant  1837 – present


County Courthouse – Mount Pleasant


Location:  100 East Washington Street / South Main Street

Built:  1912 – 1914

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  J W Royer of Urbana, Illinois

Contractor:  English Brothers of Champaign, Illinois


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story stone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Mount Pleasant. The central section extends from the main building and has a stone framed doorway with small pediment above. Four large columns rise from the first story to the top of the second story. The foundation is horizontal stonework. The roof line is flat. The building houses the County District Court of the 8B Judicial District. 


See:  The 8B Judicial District includes Des Moines CountyLee County and Louisa County.


History:  The county was created in 1836 and Mount Pleasant was selected as the county seat in 1837. The first courthouse was built in 1837 by George W Patterson, Levi Hagar and Everett Rogers. The second courthouse was built in 1870 as the Hill Block. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1912 to 1914.




County Courthouse – Mount Pleasant

























Photos taken 2008