Lucas County

US States / H-L / Iowa / Lucas County

Lucas County is named for Robert Lucas, who was a Governor of the Iowa Territory.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Warren County and Marion County

E – Monroe County

S – Wayne County

W – Clarke County


Created:  January 13, 1846                    Map of Iowa highlighting Lucas County

County Seat:

Chariton  1850 – present


County Courthouse – Charlton


Location:  916 Braden Avenue / North Main Street

Built:  1893 – 1894

Style:  Romanesque

Architect:  Foster & Liebbe

Contractor:  D Eikenberry and G J Stewart


Description: The building faces north and is a three story buff colored sandstone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Charlton. The north front has a center section with large arched entrance on the first story and above it rises to a peak at the third story. The windows are vertical and narrow. On the northwest corner of the building is a large square sandstone clock tower with turrets on each corner. The building houses the County District Court of the 5B Judicial District.


See:  The 5B Judicial District includes Adair County. Clarke CountyDecatur CountyRingold County, Taylor CountyUnion County and Wayne County.


History:  The county was created in 1846 and Charlton was selected as the county seat in 1850 when the county was organized. The first courthouse was built in 1880 at a cost of $374. The second courthouse was built at a cost of $18,000. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1893 to 1894 at a cost of $59,670.




County Courthouse - Charlton 






















Photos taken 2008