Will County

US States / H-L / Illinois / Will County

Will County is named for Dr. Conrad Will, who was a member of the Constitutional Convention and a member of the Illinois Legislature until his death in 1835.


Created:  January 12, 1836

County Seat:

Joliet  1836 – present


County Courthouse – Joliet


Location:  14 West Jefferson Street / South Ottawa Street

Built:  1967 – 1969

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Otto Stark of C F Murphy Associates and Healy Moore & Associates

Contractor:  Gawley Construction Company


Description: The building faces north and is a four story concrete and glass structure. The reinforced concrete building features first story 45 degree buttresses which support the upper stories. There is a projection from the main building on the east and west sides. The second story windows are small with larger windows on the third story and larger windows on the fourth story.


Note:  The first court met in the Old Wilson Store in 1836. The first courthouse was built in 1837 and the second courthouse was built in 1873. The third courthouse was designed by John C Cochrane and constructed by Sanger & Moody in 1884 to 1887. The present building is the fourth courthouse.



N – Du Page County and Cook County

E – Cook County and Lake County, Indiana

S – Kankakee County 

W – Grundy County and Kendall County





County Courthouse










Photos taken 2008