DuPage County

US States / H-L / Illinois / DuPage County

DuPage County is named for the DuPage River which is named after a Frenchman, DuPage, who had a station on the banks of the river.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Cook County 

E – Cook County 

S – Cook County and Will County

W – Kane County


Created:  February 9, 1839                                                        Map of Illinois highlighting DuPage County

County Seat:

Naperville   1839 – 1867

Wheaton     1867 – present


County Courthouse – Wheaton


Location:  505 North Country Farm Road / Manchester Road

Built:  1989 – 1990

Style:   Modern

Architect:  Wight and Company Inc. and Hellmuth, Obata & Kassabaum, Inc.

Contractor:  J A Jones Construction


Description: The building faces east and is a four story buff colored brick, glass and concrete structure. There is a wing running west with a retention pond along the south side. The central entrance is rounded with brown brickwork above the first story canopy. The fourth story has horizontal windows.


County Administration – Wheaton




Location:  421 North Country Farm Road / Manchester Road

Built:  1971 – 1973

Style:   Modern

Architect:  Graham Anderson Probst White

Contractor:  Wll-freds Inc.


Description: The building faces east and is a three story dark red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on the west side of the Government Complex and faces east.


Old County Courthouse – Wheaton




Location:  201 Raber Street / East Liberty Drive

Built:  1896 – 1897


Architect:  Mifflin Emien Bell

Contractor:  C A Moses


Description: The building faces west and is a three story dark red colored brick structure. The building has a large arch at the central entrance with recessed doorway. Above the entrance are two narrow towers with turrets. On the center of the roof is a high square brick clock tower with peaked roof. The building was converted into apartments.


See:  The architect, Mifflin Emien Bell also designed the courthouse in Mercer County, and courthouses in Iowa in Marion County and in Wisconsin in Monroe County. 




County Courthouse – Wheaton













Photos taken 2008