Kankakee County

US States / H-L / Illinois / Kankakee County

Kankakee County is named for the Potawatomi Indian tribe who lived in the area called the Kankakee River called the “Theatki” which evolved into “Kankakee”.


Created:  February 11, 1853

County Seat:

Kankakee  1853 – present


County Courthouse – Kankakee


Location:  450 East Court Street / South Indiana Avenue

Built:  1909 – 1912

Style:  Beaux Arts and Greek Revival

Architect:  Zachary Taylor Davis of Chicago

Contractor:  W F Stillwell


Description: The building faces north and is a three story gray colored Bedford limestone structure. The north front has a large portico with three arches on the first story entrance. Above are two large columns rising to the top of the third story with recessed windows and a pediment at the roof level. Around the roof is a stone balustrade. In the center of the building is a large square stone dome with clock and green colored dome. The interior has marble and stained glass windows. There are hand painted murals in the rotunda. During construction of the building, the supervising engineer was Robert T Malcomb and the superintendent was Arthur Soupart.



N – Will County

E – Lake County, Indiana and Newton County, Indiana

S – Iroquois County and Ford County

W – Livingston County and Grundy County














Photos taken 2006, 2010 and 2011