DeKalb County

US States / H-L / Illinois / DeKalb County

DeKalb County is named for Johann DeKalb, who was a German who fought in the Revolution.


Created:  March 4, 1837

County Seat:

Orange (Sycamore)   1837 – 1839

Cottonville                  1839 – 1840

Sycamore                  1840 – present


County Courthouse – Sycamore


Location:  133 West State Street / North Main Street

Built:  1904 – 1905

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Herbert T Hazelton of Watson & Hazelton

Contractor:  William J. McAlpine


Description: The building faces south and is a three story stone structure. The south front has four large ionic columns rising from the second story to the parapet which is Greek style with a monument mounded above. The base is horizontal stone. A balustrade rounds along the base of the second story and along the roof line. In 2011 to 2012, a four story addition was constructed on the north side. The architect was Dewberry and the contractor was Gilbane Inc.


Note:  The previous courthouse was constructed in 1850 by William Phelps and the building was enlarged in 1863.


County Administration – Sycamore




Location:  110 East Sycamore Street / North Main Street

Built:  1981 – 1982

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Burnidge Cassell and Associates

Contractor:  Walker Structural Engineers and Klaucens and Associates Inc.


Description: The building faces north and is a two story concrete and glass structure. The northwest section of the building has a recessed entrance on the north side. On the northwest are horizontal windows on the first and second stories. The east wing descends a slight slope. The roof line is flat.


County Legislative Center – Sycamore




Location:  200 North Main Street / East Exchange Street

Built:  2000 – 2002

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Wold Associates & Engineers

Contractor:  Rockford Structures Construction Company


Description: The building faces south and is a two story buff colored brick, concrete and glass structure. The south front has a projecting one story section with the entrance on the west side entering the two story section. The roof line is flat.



N – Boone County and McHenry County

E – Kane County and Kendall County

S – La Salle County 

W – Lee County and Ogle County





























Photos taken 2007 and 2012