Rio Grande County

US States / A-G / Colorado / Rio Grande County
Rio Grande

Rio Grande County is named for the Rio Grande which flows through the area.


Created:  February 10, 1874

County Seat:

Del Norte  1874 – present


County Courthouse – Del Norte


Location:  925 6th Street / Cherry Street

Built:  1948 – 1949

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Walter A Simon

Contractor:  Louis F Tourman and Glenn Watson


Description: The building  faces north and is a three story dark gray colored stone Classical Revival structure. The sides and rear of the building are buff colored brick. The center section rises above the projecting east and west wings. The architect was Walter A Simon and the contractor was Louis F Tourman and Glenn Watson. The engineer was August Zanoni.


County Administration – Del Norte




Location:  965 6th Street / Penscot Street

Built:  1996 – 1997

Style:  Modern

Architect:  DLR / Lescher and Mahoney

Contractor:  Francis Contractors, Inc.


Description: The building  faces north and is a one story white colored stucco structure. The building is located on the east side of the courthouse. The north front has a central portico at the entrance supported by two pillars. A wide porch extends along the front of the building. The hipped roof is red colored. The building is named as the Rio Grande County Annex.



North  – Saguache County

East    – Alamosa County 

South – Conejos County and Archulata County

West  – Mineral County





























Photos taken 2011