Otero County

US States / A-G / Colorado / Otero County

Otero County is named for Miguel A Otero of the prominent Otero family of the Southwest and founder of La Junta.


Created:  March 25, 1889

County Seat:

La Junta  1889 – present


County Courthouse – La Junta


Location:  13 West 3rd Street / Colorado Avenue

Built:  1958 – 1959

Style: Modern

Architect:  C Francis Pillsbury

Contractor:  Maher Construction Company of Aurora


Description: The building faces south and is a one story light buff colored brick structure. The building has long glass windows. The entrance on the south side is located in the centre of the building. The west end of the building rises higher than the east end. The roof line is flat.


Note:  The previous courthouse was designed by Baerresen Brothers and constructed in 1987. The building was razed for the present courthouse.



N – Crowley County and Kiowa County

E – Bent County

S – Las Animas County

W – Las Animas County and Pueblo County




















Photos taken 2006 and 2007