Trinity County

US States / A-G / California / Trinity County

Trinity County is named for the Trinity River, which was named after the town of Trinidad.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Siskiyou County 

E – Shasta County and Tehama County

S – Mendocino County

W – Humboldt County 


Created:  February 18, 1850                                          Location in the state of California

County Seat: 

Weaverville  1850 – present


County Courthouse – Weaverville 


Location:  11 Court Street / Main Street

Built:  1857

Style:  Federal / Commercial

Architect:  Henry Hocker

Contractor:  Henry Hocker


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story dark red colored brick and wood structure. The building is located in the center of Weaverville. The building was constructed as the Apollo Saloon and Hotel and was purchased by the board of supervisors in 1865. The south front has a central entrance and five French doors on the first story. The second story has an iron balcony and long vertical windows with small pediments above. There is a horizontal band running below the roof line. There are two courtrooms on first story of the north section. The building houses the County Superior Court. The rear section was constructed in 1935. The center section was constructed in 1958. In 1977 to 1978, an addition was constructed on the east side. The architect was Raymond L Birge & Associates and the contractor was A J McMurry Construction.


Note:  The courthouse is the second oldest courthouse in California after the oldest courthouse in Mariposa County and the third oldest courthouse in Colusa County.


See:  The county is located in the 3rd Appellate District Court of Appeal – Sacramento.


History:  The county was created in 1850 and Weaverville was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a three story wood structure built in 1853 at the corner of Church Street and Court Street. The building was later destroyed by fire in September 1866. The second and present courthouse was purchased in 1865.


Note:  The first courthouse in northern California was a one story wood cabin structure built in 1850 at Sawyers Bar, a California Gold Rush mining camp. First located in Trinity County, it became part of the now defunct Klamath County from 1851 to 1874 and was annexed to Siskiyou County. The county seats for Klamath County were Trinidad in 1850, Crescent City ( later Del Norte County ) in 1854 and Orleans Bar in 1856.




County Courthouse
























1055c13 .



















Photos taken 2013 and 2015