Humboldt County

US States / A-G / California / Humboldt County

Humboldt County is named for Alexander von Humboldt, who was a German naturalist and explorer.


Created:  May 12, 1853

County Seat: 

Eureka  1853 – present


County Courthouse – Eureka 


Location:  825 Fifth Street / I Street

Built:  1955 - 1956

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Mitchell Van Bourg and Gerald Matson

Contractor:  Dinwiddie Construction Company


Description:  The building faces south and is a five story concrete and glass structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of the city. On the east side is the five story section with vertical concrete pilasters with horizontal windows between. On the west side is the three story section with recessed first story and white colored concrete on the second and third stories. At the junction of the two section is the glass entrance with large mural above. On the east side is the Jail.


See:  The architect, Mitchell Van Bourg also designed the courthouse in Stanislaus County.


Note:  The previous and first courthouse was a three story structure designed by Curtis & Bennett and built from 1885 to 1889. The building was torn down when the present courthouse was constructed and the old cornerstone was preserved.



N – Del Norte County

E – Siskiyou County and Trinity County 

S – Mendocino County

W – Pacific Ocean




County Courthouse






















Cornerstone 1885 Courthouse

Photos taken 2015