Carroll County

US States / A-G / Arkansas / Carroll County
Carroll - E

Carroll County is named for Charles Carroll, who was a signer of the United States Declaration of Independence.


Created:  November 1, 1833

County Seat:

Carrollton           1833- 1875

Berryville            1875 – present  ( Eastern District )

Eureka Springs  1883 – present  ( Western District )

* Carroll County has two county seats


County Courthouse – Berryville


Location:  210 West Church Street / Spring Street

Built:  1950 – 1951

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Unknown

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces southeast and is a one story buff colored brick and concrete  structure. The building is located in the center of Berryville. The southeast front has a central glass paneled section with entrance. The roof line is flat. The building was former the Electric Co-operative Building until 1970’s.


Old County Courthouse – Berryville




Location:  Courthouse Square / Church Street

Built:  1880 – 1881

Style:  Romanesque Revival

Architect:  R H Jones

Contractor:  J P Fancher of Berryville


Description:  The building faces northeast and is a three story red colored brick structure. The building is located in the center of Berryville. On the northeast and southeast corners are four story square red brick towers with slopped roofs. The courtroom is located on the second story. The building served as the courthouse until 1970’s. The building is now the Berryville Heritage Center. In 1904 and 1905, a third story was added as well as the two four story towers and mansard roof.


Note:  The first courthouse was a two story log structure built in Carrolton in 1836 to 1837. Legal proceedings were conducted about nine miles to the northwest in the home of Charles Sneed. The second courthouse was a brick structure built in 1844. In 1866 the courthouse was destroyed by fire. The county government was moved into a reconditioned building where it remained until the county seat was removed in 1875. The third courthouse was constructed in Berryville in 1881.


County Courthouse – Eureka Springs




Location:  44 South Main Street / Benton Street

Built:  1908 – 1909

Style:  Romanesque Revival

Architect:  W O Perkins and Son

Contractor:  W O Perkins and Son


Description: The building  faces west and is a two story native limestone structure. The building is located in the center of Eureka Springs. The west front has a central square three story stone tower with red roof. On either side of the tower are sections with pitched roofs and narrow arched windows.



N – Barry County, Missouri and Stone County, Missouri

E – Boone County

S – Newton County and Madison County

W – Benton County





County Courthouse – Berryville
















Old County Courthouse – Berryville










County Courthouse – Eureka Springs



















Photos taken 2011