Barry County

US States / M / Missouri / Barry County

Barry County is named for William Taylor Barry, who was a jurist and the United States Postmaster General.


Created:  January 5, 1835 

County Seat:

Mount Pleasant  1835 – 1839

McDowell           1839 – 1845

Cassville            1845 – present


County Courthouse – Cassville


Location:  700 Main Street / West 7th Street

Built:  1913 – 1914

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Henry H Hohenschild

Contractor:  Hamley Hanson of St. Louis


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story stone veneer and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of the city and is  84 feet by 100 feet. The south front has a projecting center section with two large columns rising to the top of the second story with a wide header which extends above the flat roof line. Cornices run below the roof line and below the first story windows. On the north side, a five window bay extends from the building at the courtroom.


See:  The architect, Henry H Hohenschild, also designed courthouses in Christian CountyPemiscot County and Scott County.


Note:  The first courthouse was built in Mount Pleasant in 1837. The next courthouse was built in Cassville in 1846 for a cost of 510 with John O Burton as superintendent. The second courthouse in Cassville was built by  William Young and Abner Neely for $4,995 in 1855 to 1858. The building was razed in 1910. The cost of construction of the present courthouse was $45,720.



N – Lawrence County

E – Stone County

S – Carroll County, Arkansas and Benton County, Arkansas

W – McDonald County and Newton County





County Courthouse



















Photos taken 2009