Montgomery County

US States / A-G / Arkansas / Montgomery County

Montgomery County is named for Richard Montgomery, who was a United States general killed in the American Revolutionary War.


Created:  December 9, 1842

County Seat:        

Mount Ida  1842 – present


County Courthouse – Mount Ida


Location:  1 George Street / West Street

Built:  1923 – 1924

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Clyde A Ferrell of Little Rock

Contractor:  Western Construction Company


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story brown colored native stone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Mount Ida.  The pilasters sustaining the front pediment are formed with rough stone from local fields. The building has a hipped roof.The building was remodeled in 1975 and a one story addition was constructed on the north side.. On the east side is a one story red colored brick structure which contains a courtroom.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Montgomery County Courthouse


Note:  The first courthouse was a log building built in 1846. The second courthouse was a two story building built in 1873. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1923.



N – Scott County and Yell County

E – Garland County and Hot Spring County

S – Clark County and Pike County

W – Howard County and Polk County





County Courthouse – Mount Ida







County Courts Building – Mount Ida

Photos taken 2011