Jackson County

US States / O-U / Texas / Jackson County

Jackson County is named for Andrew Jackson, who was the seventh President of the United States from 1829 to 1837.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Lavaca County, Colorado County and Wharton County

E – Matagorda County 

S – Calhoun County

W – Victoria County

Created:  March 17, 1836                       Map of Texas highlighting Jackson County

County Seat: 

Texana   1836 – 1883

Edna      1883 – present

County Courthouse – Edna

Location:  115 West Main Street / North Wells Street

Built:  1953 – 1954

Style:  Modern

Architect:  F Perry Johnson

Contractor:  J B Hughes

Description:  The building faces northwest and is a one story buff and light red colored brick and concrete structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of the Edna. The central entrance on the northwest front has a clock on the brick wall and glass paneled entrance. The north side of the entrance has buff colored flagstone facing. The windows are horizontal. On the north and south side, one story wings extend westwards. The roof line is flat. In the interior, the courtroom is located at the center of the second story. The building houses the State District Court and Constitutional County Court. 


History:  The county was created in 1836 as one of the original 23 counties and Texana was selected as the county seat. The county used rented premises until the first courthouse was built in 1858. In 1883, the county seat was moved to Edna. The second courthouse was designed by E A Wilson and built by Piper & Dietz of Lavac County in Edna in 1884. The third courthouse was designed by Charles Henry Page Jr. and constructed by N A Dawson in 1906. At a cost of $41,000. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1953 to 1954 at a cost of $376,000.




County Courthouse – Edna








































Photos taken 2014