Macon County

US States / N / North Carolina / Macon County

Macon County is named for Nathaniel Macon, who was a member and Speaker of the United State House of Representatives.


Created:  1828

County Seat: 

Franklin  1828 – present


County Courthouse – Franklin  


Location:  5 West Main Street / Iotla Street

Built:  1971 – 1972

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Kyle C Boone

Contractor:  Bryant Construction Corporation


Description:  The building faces east and is a three story red-brown colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located in the center of Franklin. The east side has a central entrance with small white colored canopy. The southeast section forms a rectangular tower rising above the main building. The roof line is flat.


History:  The first courthouse was built by Colonel David Coleman in Franklin in 1829. Samuel Lyle and Dr. T T Young of Washington County, Tennessee undertook the brickwork. The second courthouse was designed by William Gould Bulgin and constructed by John Davis in 1881. The building was demolished but the cupola was saved and stand in a downtown park. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1971 to 1972



N – Swain County

E – Jackson County

S – Rabun County, Georgia

W – Clay County, Cherokee County and Graham County





County Courthouse – Franklin






















Cupola 1881 County Courthouse

Photos taken 2012