Graham County

US States / N / North Carolina / Graham County

Graham County is named for William Alexander Graham, who was a United States Senator, Governor of North Carolina and United States Secretary of the Navy.


Created:  January 30, 1872

County Seat: 

Robbinsville 1872 – present


County Courthouse – Robbinsville


Location:  12 North Main Street / Court Street

Built:  1941 – 1942

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Barber and McMurry of Knoxville, Tennessee

Contractor:  Works Project Administration


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story flagstone structure. The building is a “T” shape and is located on landscaped grounds in the center of the city.. The west front has a portico supported by four white colored pillars rising to a pediment at the roof line. The roof is hipped. The building was a Work Projects Administration project using local trades and labor. The construction supervisor was John L Taylor and the foreman was W T Moore of Andrews.


Note:  The first courthouse was a wood frame structure built by John W Harwood in 1873 to 1874 at a cost of $1,075. The second courthouse was a two story wood structure constructed in 1894 to 1895. The building was demolished to make room for the present  and third courthouse.



N – Swain County

E – Swain County and Macon County

S – Cherokee County

W – Monroe County, Tennessee





County Courthouse



















Photos taken 2012