Swain County

US States / N / North Carolina / Swain County

Swain County is named for David Lowry Swain, who was a governor of North Carolina ad president of the University of North Carolina.


Created:  1871

County Seat: 

Bryson City  1871 – present


County Courthouse – Bryson City 


Location:  101 Mitchell Street / Slope Street

Built:  1980 – 1982

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Nichols, Carter, Seay / Grant Architects

Contractor:  Wilkie Construction Company, Inc.


Description:  The building faces north and is a one story brown colored brick and concrete structure. The north front forms  a ”V” with the entrance in the center and with glass panels above. The orange colored roof is sloped. There is a wide plaza in front of the building with wide steps on the north side.


Old County Courthouse – Bryson City 




Location:  4 Everett Street / Main Street

Built:  1908 – 1909

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Frank P Milburn of Washington, D.C. and Richard Sharp Smith

Contractor:  Falls City Construction Company of Louisville, Kentucky


Description:  The building faces southwest and is a two story white colored stuccoed structure. The southwest front has a large portico supported by four columns rising to a wide pediment at the roof line. The sides has projecting center sections rising to a pediment at the roof line. On the center of the roof is an octagonal dome with clock and red colored roof at the top.  


Note:  The cost of construction of the courthouse was approximately $35,000. The commissioners authorized the purchase of “a tower clock with metal Bell for a cost of $850.00” for the new courthouse.


See:  The architect Frank Pierce Milburn of Washington, DC. and  the contractor Falls City Construction Company of Louisville, Kentucky.


Note: The previous courthouse was designed by D K Collins and built by Thaddius Dillard in 1880. The courthouse burned in 1908.



N – Blount County, Tennesse and Sevier County, Tennessee

E – Haywood County and Jackson County

S – Macon County and Graham County

W – Graham County


























Photos taken 2012