Jackson County

US States / N / North Carolina / Jackson County
Jackson -O

Jackson County is named for Andrew Jackson, who was the 7th President of the United States from 1829 to 1837.


Created:  January 29, 1851

County Seat: 

Webster  1851 – 1913

Sylva       1913 – present


Old County Courthouse – Sylva


Location:  310 Keener Street / Ridgeway Street

Built:  1913 – 1914

Style:  Beaux Arts

Architect:  Rich S Smith & Albert H Carrier of Asheville

Contractor:  C J Harris


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story white colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on a hill overlooking the downtown of Sylva. The east front has a large portico with four columns rising to a pediment at the roof line. The second story has a balcony. On the center of the roof is an octagonal dome with clock and statue of Justice at the top. The building is now the Public Library.


See:  The courthouse is similar to the courthouse in Madison County, both designed by Rich S Smith & Albert H Carrier of Asheville.


 County Justice and Administration Center – Sylva




Location:  401 Grindstaff Cove Road / Jackson Plaza Road

Built:  1994 – 1995

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Foy, Lee, Moody & Associates

Contractor:  L P Cox Construction of Sanford Inc.


Description:  The building faces northeast and is a two story buff-brown colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Sylva to the north of the old courthouse. A narrow horizontal white band runs along the top of the first story. On the northeast and southeast are entrances flanked by stone pillars. The roof line is flat. The building is named as the Justice and Administration Center.


History:  The first court met at the home of Daniel Bryson, Sr. and then at Allen Fisher’s store. The first courthouse was built in Webster in 1855. In 1913, the county seat was moved from Webster to Sylva. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1913 to 1914. The County Justice and Administration Center was constructed in 1994 to 1995.



N – Swain County and Haywood County

E – Haywood County and Transylvania County

S – Oconee County, South Carolina and Raubun County, Georgia

W – Macon County and Swain County





Old County Courthouse – Sylva
















County Justice and Administration Center – Sylva



















Photos taken 2012