Columbus County

US States / N / North Carolina / Columbus County

Columbus County is named for Christopher Columbus, who was a navigator, explorer and one of the first Europeans to explore the Americas.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Bladen County and Pender County

E – Brunswick County

S – Horry County, South Carolina

W – Robeson County


Created:  December 15, 1808                Map of North Carolina highlighting Columbus County

County Seat: 

Whiteville  1808 – present


County Courthouse – Whiteville 


Location:  100 Courthouse Square / Washington Street

Built:  1913 – 1914

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Joseph F Leitner of Augusta, Georgia

Contractor:  William P Rose.


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building has a large portico supported by four large columns rising to a pediment at the roof. The portico extends east and west with four more white colored columns rising to headers at the roof line. The windows are framed with white colored wood. Vertical white colored bands run below the eaves. The roof is hipped. The building was renovated in 1965 to 1967.


History:  The first courthouse was built in 1852. The architect’s plans for the second and present courthouse were modified so that the cost of construction would not exceed $50,000 in 1913 to 1914.


County Courthouse Annex – Whiteville 


Location:  1113 Courthouse Square / Washington Street

Built:  2013 – 2016

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Ware Bonsall Architects

Contractor:  Group III Management of Kinston


Description:  The building faces north and is a three story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located in the center of Whiteville to the south of the courthouse. The roof line is flat. 


Note:  The cost of construction was $10,000,000.


County Administration – Whiteville 




Location:  125 Washington Street / Courthouse Square

Built:  1973 – 1974

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Unknown

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The south front has a recessed center section with glass panels. The roof line is flat.




County Courthouse – Whiteville













County Administration – Whiteville




Photos taken 2008