Hertford County

US States / N / North Carolina / Hertford County

Hertford County is named for Francis Seymour-Conway, who was the 1st Marquess of Hertford and who was Lord of the Bedchamber to George II and George III of Great Britain.


Created:  December 12, 1754

County Seat: 

Winton  1754 – present


County Courthouse – Winton  


Location:  701 North King Street / Cross Street

Built:  1955 – 1956

Style:  Modern

Architect:  John J Rowland and James M Simpson

Contractor:  Clifton R Heuay


Description:  The building faces southeast and is a one story red colored brick and concrete structure. The center section has seven large vertical windows. The entrance is at the lower south wing. There is a lower north wing. The roof line is flat.


Note:  The previous courthouse was constructed in 1875 and enlarged in 1905. The building was demolished when the present courthouse was constructed at a cost of $450,000.


New County Courthouse – Winton  


Location:  119 Justice Drive / Parkers Fishery Road

Built:  2013 – 2015

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Ware Bonsall Architecture of Charlotte

Contractor:  A R Chesson Construction Company


Description:  The building faces south and is a three story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds with the Government Center on the northeast side. The center section has a high portico with four white colored columns rising to a pediment at the third story wing. A pediment rises above the third story. The roof line of the outer wings are flat.


Note:  The cost of construction of the Courthouse and Government Center was $12,225,000.


County Administration – Winton  




Location:  704 North King Street / Cross Street

Built:  Unknown

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Unknown

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces northwest and is a one story red colored brick and concrete structure. The roof line is flat. At the rear of the building is a cemetery.



N – Southampton County, Virginia

E – Gates County and Chowan County

S – Bertie County 

W – Northampton County


























Photos taken 2012