Horry County

US States / O-U / South Carolina / Horry County

Horry County is named for Peter Horry, who was a soldier in the American Revolutionary War.


Created:  December 19, 1801

County Seat: 

Conway  1801 – present


County Courthouse – Conway  


Location:  1201 3rd Avenue / Beaty Street

Built:  1906 – 1907

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Leitner & Wilkins of Wilmington, North Carolina

Contractor:  Henry P Little of Conway


Description:  The building faces northwest and is a two story dark red colored brick structure. The building has a portico on the front supported by four large white colored columns rising to a header at the top of the second story. There is a small balcony above the entrance. Above the header is a third story in the central section with octagonal cupola in the center of the roof. The north and south wings project with four white colored columns rising to the top of the second story. The building was renovated in 1964. The architect was Baker & Gill and the contractor was Dargan Construction Company.


County Justice Center – Conway  




Location:  1301 2nd Avenue / Beaty Street

Built:  2001 – 2002

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Stevens & Wilkinson of South Carolina

Contractor:  M B Kahn Construction Company Inc.


Description:  The building faces northwest and is a two story reddish colored brick and concrete structure. The building has a high portico at the front supported by eight square white colored pillars with pediment above. The north and south wings are on story with the second story rising behind and in the center section. There is an open lobby on the southeast connecting to a three story wing on the southeast containing the Justice Center.


Old County Courthouse – Conway  




Location:  229 Main Street / 3rd Avenue

Built:  1824 – 1825

Style:  Greek Revival

Architect:  Robert Mills of Charleston

Contractor:  Russell Warren.


Description:  The building faces northeast and is a two story red colored brick and wood structure. The northeast front has a large portico with an arched recessed entrance on the first story and with four white colored columns rising to a pediment on the second story. The second story windows are arched. The roof is hipped. The building is now the City Hall.


See:  The architect, Robert Mills of Charleston, designed courthouses in Edgefield County, Fairfield County, Georgetown County, Lancaster County, Marion County and Williamsburg County.



N – Robeson County, North Carolina, Columbus County, North Carolina and Brunswick County, North Carolina

E – Atlantic Ocean

S – Georgetown County and Marion County

W – Marion County and Dillon County


















































Photos taken 2008