Cibola County

US States / N / New Mexico / Cibola County

Cibola County is named for the Cibola National forest, part of which lies within the county, and “cibola” refers to the legendary “Seven Cities of Gold”.


Created:  June 19, 1981

County Seat:

Grants  1981 – present


County Courthouse – Grants


Location:  515 West High Street / Iron Street

Built:  1986 – 1987

Style:  Spanish Mission

Architect:  Hoshour & Pearson

Contractor:  A & M Builders


Description: The building faces south and is a one story yellow colored stucco, glass and concrete structure..On the west side is ta mission church style building with open sided tower. The building has a red colored title roof and faces south onto a plaza.


Note:  Cibola County is the newest county in New Mexico. The present courthouse was the former Grants High School and Cibola County Authority Building which was converted for use as the courthouse in 1987.



N – McKinley County

E – Sandoval County, Bernalillo County and Valencia County

S – Socorro County and Catron County

W – Apache County, Arizona














Photos taken 2007