Dent County

US States / M / Missouri / Dent County

Dent County is named for Lewis Dent, who was a pioneer settler in the region.


Created:  February 10, 1851 

County Seat:

Salem  1853 – present


County Courthouse – Salem  


Location:  400 North Main Street / East 5th Street

Built:  1870 – 1871

Style:  French Renaissance

Architect:  Mahlon Randolph of Randolph Brothers of St. Louis

Contractor:  A E Dye


Description: The building faces west and is a three story brick structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of the city. and has a square tower with mansard roof topped by cresting and open dormer windows. At the base of the tower is an arched entrance leading to a central hall. In 1896 to 1897, a one story addition was added on the east side and in 1911, the addition was increased to two stories. Renovations were made ion 1976.


Note:  The first courthouse was built by J T Garvin in 1852 to 1853 at a cost of $800. The second courthouse was built in 1864 and burned in May 1866. The cost of construction of the present courthouse was $15,500.



N – Phelps County and Crawford County

E – Iron County and Reynolds County

S – Shannon County

W – Texas County and Phelps County





County Courthouse










Photos taken 2009