Phelps County

US States / M / Missouri / Phelps County

Phelps County is named for John S Phelps, who was a politician, soldier during the American Civil War and the twenty-third Governor of Missouri.


Created:  November 13, 1857

County Seat:

Rolla  1857 – present


County Courthouse – Rolla  


Location:  200 North Main Street / West 2nd Street

Built:  1993 – 1994

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Stack & Associates, Inc. of St. James

Contractor:  Rankin Construction Company of St. Louis


Description: The building faces northeast and is a two story red colored brick, concrete and glass structure. The northeast front has four vertical glass panels and rises to a peak at the roof line. From the center extend a north wing and an east wing with pitched roofs and small windows. The building sits on the side of a slope with the basement entrance on the south side.


Old County Courthouse – Rolla  




Location:  East 3rd Street / North Main Street

Built:  1860 – 1861

Style:  Georgian Revival

Architect:  P J Lynch and Andrew Malcolm

Contractor:  P J Lynch and Andrew Malcolm


Description: The building faces north and is a two story red colored sand-mud brick structure. The building is 45 feet by 65 feet. The north front has a central entrance on the first story with small balcony above on the second story. The roof is gabled. The corners of the building have stone trim.  On the roof is a large square open cupola. Vault wings were added after 1881 on the east and west sides., and the jail was added in 1912. The cupola was removed in the 1940’s.



N – Maries County and Gasconade County

E – Crawford County and Dent County

S – Dent County and Texas County

W – Pulaski County























Photos taken 2009