Boyle County

US States / H-L / Kentucky / Boyle County

Boyle County is named for John Boyle, who was the Chief Justice of the Kentucky Court of Appeals from 1810 to 1826.


Created:  February 15, 1842

County Seat: 

Danville  1842 – present


County Courthouse – Danville 


Location:  321 West Main Street / North 4th Street

Built:  1860 – 1862

Style:  Italianate

Architect:  James R Carrigan and Sammuel Sloan

Contractor:  James R Carrigan


Description:  The building faces south and  is a two story red colored brick structure. The south front has a high portico rising above the three white entrance doorways. Four white columns rise from the base to top of the second story. Atop the front of the building is a large white square with octagonal white wood cupola rising to a clock at the top and a small gray dome. On the north side of the building is the large three story brown-red colored brick annex with the courthouse square in the southwest corner of the site. In 1899, an addition was constructed.



N – Mercer County

E – Garrard County

S – Lincoln County and Casey County

W – Marion County and Washington County




















Photos taken 2007