Dickinson County

US States / H-L / Kansas / Dickinson County

Dickinson County is named for Daniel Stevens Dickinson, who was a United States senator for New York.


Created:  February 20, 1857

County Seat:

Abilene  1857 – present


County Courthouse – Abilene 


Location:  109 East 1st Street  / Buckeye Street

Built:  1955 – 1956

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Cayton and Murray

Contractor:  Martin K Eby Construction Company of Wichita.


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story buff colored brick and concrete structure. There is a canopy at the entrance along the south side. The second story windows are horizontal with an overhang above. The west side has white colored stone facing. The roof line is flat.


Note:  The previous courthouse was constructed in 1885. An addition was added in 1904 and the architect was H M Handley. In 1955, the general bid for the present courthouse went to Martin K. Eby Construction Company from Wichita, the electrical base bid went to Acker Electrical Company of Manhattan, the base bid for plumbing & heating to Gage Plumbing & Heating Company Inc. from Salina and the base bid for the jail to Decatur Iron & Steel Company from Alabama.



N – Clay County

E – Geary County and Morris County

S – Marion County

W – Saline County and Ottawa County




















Photos taken 2010