Morris County

US States / H-L / Kansas / Morris County

Morris County is named for Thomas Morris, who was a former United States Senator from Ohio who was an opponent of slavery.


Created:  February 11, 1859

County Seat:

Council Grove  1859 – present


County Courthouse – Council Grove  


Location:  501 West Main Street / South Rockhill Street

Built:  1968 – 1969

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Kiene & Bradley Partnership of Topeka

Contractor:  Bradley Building Company of Kansas Inc.


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story brown colored brick and concrete  structure. The west front is one story above ground with a large concrete overhang at the main entrance. On the east side the hill falls away to two stories with a projecting concrete overhangs from the flat roof line. The windows are narrow and vertical.


Note:  The previous courthouse was constructed in 1891 and an addition was constructed in 1902. The building was demolished.


See:  The architect, Kiene & Bradley Architects of Topeka, designed courthouses in Coffey CountyGreeley County, Jefferson CountyLogan CountyNeosho County and Wilson County.



N – Geary County

E – Wabaunsee County and Lyon County

S – Chase County and Marion County

W – Marion County and Dickinson County

















Photos taken 2009