Lewis County

US States / O-U / Tennessee / Lewis County

Lewis County is named for Meriwether Lewis, who was an explorer who traveled along the Missouri River.


Created:  December 21, 1843

County Seat:  

Gordon         1843 – 1848

Newburg       1848 – 1897

Hohenwald    1897 – present


County Courthouse – Hohenwald  


Location:  110 North Park Street / Linden Avenue

Built:  1938 – 1939

Style:  Federal

Architect:  Hart and Russell of Nashville

Contractor:  Chrichlow-Yearwood Company


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of the city. The center section of the building rises higher than the north and south sections. The roof line is flat. The courtroom is located on the east side of the second story. The building was a Federal Emergency Administration project.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Lewis County Courthouse


Note:  The first courthouse was built in 1843 in Gordon and the second courthouse was built in Newburg in 1857. In 1897, the county seat was moved to Hohenwald and the third courthouse was built. In 1927 the building was demolished and the court moved to an old school building located on the current site of the courthouse. In 1937 the old school building was razed and construction began on the current and fifth courthouse.



N – Hickman County

E – Maury County

S – Lawrence County and Wayne County

W – Wayne County and Perry County





County Courthouse

























Photos taken 2012 and 2018