Wayne County

US States / O-U / Tennessee / Wayne County

Wayne County is named for Anthony Wayne, who was a general in the American Revolutionary War, and who lived from 1745 to 1796.


Created:  November 24, 1817

County Seat:  

Old Town Branch  1817 – 1822

Waynesboro          1822 – present


County Courthouse – Waynesboro


Location:  100 Court Circle / Hill Street

Built:  1973 – 1974

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Yearwood and Johnson of Nashville

Contractor:  W C Moore Construction Company


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story glass and concrete  structure. The building is located on Courthouse Square in the center of the city. has horizontal windows on the first story with recessed entrances. A high clock tower rises on the west side. The roof line is sloped.


Note:  The first courthouse was built at Old Town Branch by William Barnett in 1820. In 1822, the second courthouse was built in Waynesboro. In 1827, the third courthouse was built at a cost of $800. In 1844, the fourth courthouse was built at a cost of $4000. In 1904, the fifth courthouse was constructed at a cost of $25,000. This building burned in 1972. The present courthouse was constructed at a cost of $900,000.



N – Decatur County, Perry County and Lewis County

E – Lawrence County

S – Lauderdale County, Alabama

W – Hardin County





County Courthouse

























Picture 1904 Courthouse

Photos taken 2012