Williamson County

US States / O-U / Tennessee / Williamson County

Williamson County is named for Hugh Williamson, who was a United States Representative in Congress.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Cheatham County and Davidson County

E – Rutherford County

S – Marshall County and Maury County

W – Hickman County and Dickson County


Created:  October 26, 1799                    Map of Tennessee highlighting Williamson County

County Seat: 

Franklin  1799 – present


County Courthouse – Franklin  


Location:  305 Public Square / 3rd Avenue South

Built:  1858 – 1859

Style:  Greek Revival

Architect:  John W Miller.

Contractor:  John W Miller.


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story red colored brick structure. The building is located on Courthouse Square in the center of Franklin. The north front has a high central portico with four columns rising to a pediment with clock at the roof line. The four 30foot columns are made of iron forged at the Caney Fork Furnace, in western Williamson County. There is a second story balcony. The roof is hipped. The building was renovated in 1937 and 1964. On the southeast side is a modern addition constructed in 1976. The building was renovated in 2009.


See:  The courthouse is one of six remaining working Antebellum courthouses in Tennessee located in Carter CountyDickson CountyHawkins CountyJefferson County and Rutherford County. 


County Judicial Center – Franklin  




Location:  135 4th Avenue South / Church Street

Built:  2002 – 2004

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Heery International, Incorporated

Contractor:  The Parent Company, Inc.


Description:  The building faces northwest and s a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located in the center of Franklin to the south of the courthouse. The southwest front has a large central portico with four columns rising to a pediment with clock at the roof line. There is a balcony on the second story. On the southeast side is a porch with four columns. A narrow belt runs below the roof overhang. The roof line is flat. The building is connected by a second story walkway to the old courthouse on the north side.


History:  The first courthouse was a log structure built in 1800. The second courthouse was a brick structure built in 1806. The third and present courthouse was built in 1858 to 1959 at a cost of $27,594. The County Judicial Center was constructed in 2002 to 2004.




County Courthouse – Franklin

























County Judicial Center – Franklin
















Photos taken 2014 and 2018