Carroll County

US States / O-U / Ohio / Carroll County

Carroll County is named for Charles Carroll, who was a signer of the Declaration of Independence.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Stark County and Columbiana County

E – Columbiana County and Jefferson County

S – Harrison County

W – Tuscarawas County


Created:  January 1, 1833                      Map of Ohio highlighting Carroll County

County Seat:

Carrollton  1833 – present


County Courthouse – Carrollton 


Location:  246 South Lisbon Street / 2nd Street SE

Built:  1884 – 1885

Style:  Second Empire

Architect:  Frank O Weary and George Kramer

Contractor:  J S Melbourne


Description:  The building faces northwest and is a two story rough sand block structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Carrollton. The northwest front has a small portico with four columns rising to a balcony on the second story. Above is a large window and a fan window in the center with a raised section which rises above the roof line. On the center of the roof is a large square cupola with clock at the top. The interior has smooth mosaic tiled floors and ornate steel staircases. The County Court of Common Pleas courtroom is located on the second story. The building houses the County Court of Common Pleas and County Probate/Juvenile CourtOn the southeast side is a two story addition built in 1975 to 1976. The architect was Geary, Moore and Ahrens, Inc. and the contractor was A A Knoch & Sons, Inc.


See:  Ohio Court of Appeals – Youngstown ( 7th Appellate District )


History:  The county was created in 1833 and Carrollton was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a two story brick structure designed by Peter Herold and built by James McMullin in 1834 to 1837 with bell cast in Pittsburgh in 1842. James McMullin failed to meet expectations and the contract was awarded to John Lacey who also failed to honor his contract. The county wished to finish the construction and in desperation placed the contract with John Rankin. Unfortunately for the county, Rankin to failed to meet the obligations of the contract and George Hampson was selected instead. Hampson remained at this post and saw the courthouse into completion in 1837. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1884 to 1885, at a cost of $107,534.




County Courthouse – Carrollton
















County Court of Common Pleas courtroom













Photos taken 2011