Ingham County

US States / M / Michigan / Ingham County

Ingham County is named for Samuel Ingham, who was Secretary of the Treasury under President Andrew Jackson.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Clinton County and Shiawassee County

E – Livingston County

S – Jackson County

W – Eaton County


Created:  October 29, 1829                    Map of Michigan highlighting Ingham County

County Seat:

Ingham   1838 – 1840

Mason    1840 – present


County Courthouse – Mason


Location:  315 North Jefferson Street / East Maple Street

Built:  1903 – 1905

Style:  Classic Revival

Architect:  Edwyn A Bowd of Lansing

Contractor:  George Rickman & Sons Company


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story Berea sandstone and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Mason. The building has a large portico supported by four large columns rising to a pediment at the roof line. On the center of the roof is a square dome with clock and white colored roof. The statue of a Golden Eagle is atop the dome. The roof is black colored slate. In the interior is a central rotunda. On the second story outside the courtroom are four arch-shaped murals. The courtroom is expansive with wood furnishings and frescoes. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 30th Judicial District. The building was renovated from 1980 to 1995.


County District Court – Mason




Location:  700 Buhl Drive / North Cedar Street

Built:  Unknown

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Unknown

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces west and is a one story brown colored brick and concrete structure. The roof line is flat.


History:  The county was created in 1829 and Ingham was selected as the county seat in 1838 when the county was organized. No courthouse was built and the county seat was moved to Mason in 1840. The county met in a schoolhouse and the first courthouse was a one story frame structure built by Emmons White in 1840 to 1841. In 1842, the second courthouse was a two story frame structure built by William Hammond & Company at a cost of $$800 including the land. In 1858, the third courthouse was a two story brick structure designed and built by Matthew Elder of Lansing at a cost of $12,229. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1903 to 1905 at a cost of $96,678. In 1999 to 2001, the Veterans Memorial Courthouse was constructed at a cost of $24,000,000.


See:  Michigan Supreme Court which is located in Lansing


See:  Michigan’s County Courthouses by John Fedynsky


Other Branch Courthouses


Lansing  - Veterans Memorial Courthouse

                – County District Coury (Lansing City Hall)




County Courthouse – Mason




























County District Court – Mason







Photos taken 2008