Clinton County

US States / M / Michigan / Clinton County

Clinton County is named for DeWitt Clinton, who was a Governor of New York and an advocate for the construction of the Erie Canal.


Created:  April 1, 1840

County Seat:

De Witt     1839 – 1855

St. Johns  1855 – present


County Courthouse – St. Johns


Location:  100 East State Street / North Clinton Street

Built:  1998 – 2000

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Wigen, Tincknell, Meyer & Associates

Contractor:  Clark Construction Company of Lansing


Description:  The building faces north and is a four story red and gray colored brick structure. The north front has a projecting center section with on story entrance porch on the first story. Above is a high vertical window. The first story is faced with gray colored bricks and the upper stories are red colored brick. On the center of the roof is a square red brick clock tower which contains the original clock from the old courthouse. The building also houses the City offices.


Note:  The previous courthouse was designed by Oliver Hidden of Bay City and constructed by David Gibb in 1869 to 1871 for a cost of $10,015.53. The cost of present courthouse was $17,400,000.


See:  The architect, Wigen, Tincknell, Meyers & Associates, designed courthouses  in Ingham County, Montcalm County and Roscommon County. The contractor Clark Construction Company of Lansing constructed courthouses in Ingham County, Livingston County and Montcalm County.


See:  Michigan’s County Courthouses by John Fedynsky



N – Gratiot County

E – Shiawassee County

S – Ingham County and Eaton County 

W  Ionia County
































Photos taken 2008