Carroll County

US States / H-L / Illinois / Carroll County

Carroll County is named for Charles Carroll, who was a signer of the Declaration of Independence and who resided in Carrollton.


Created:  February 22, 1839

County Seat:

Savanna         1839 – 1843

Mount Carroll  1843 – present


County Courthouse – Mount Carroll


Location:  301 North Main Street / East Market Street

Built:  1858– 1860

Style:  Italianate

Architect:  William T Miller

Contractor:  Olmsted & Nicholson.


Description: The building faces west and is a two story red colored brick structure. The building is located on the north side of the complex. The building has a course stone base and the upper windows are arched. Built in 1958, the middle building has a large portico on the west front supported by four large white columns. Built in 1895, the south building is a two story red brick structure with arched entrance topped by a slanted stone roof. The base of the building is course stone. Horizontal bands of light stone divide the floors and edge the windows.



N – Jo Daviess County and Stephenson County

E – Ogle County

S – Whiteside County

W – Clinton County, Iowa and Jackson County, Iowa 







Photos taken 2007