Clinton County

US States / H-L / Kentucky / Clinton County

Clinton County is named for DeWitt Clinton, who was the Governor of New York from 1817 to 1823.


Created:  February 20, 1835

County Seat: 

Albany  1835 – present


County Courthouse – Albany 


Location:  100 South Cross Street / Jefferson Street

Built:  1983 – 1984

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Coblin Jonter & Associates

Contractor:  Alliance Corporation.


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story concrete and sand colored brick structure. The building is located in the center of the square. On the northwest corner are two two-story arches at the entrance. The roof has a peak at the centre of each side of the building. On the center of the roof is a square cupola with clock, and atop it is an octagonal smaller cupola with dome roof. A white colored cornice follows the roof line.


Note:  The previous courthouse was designed by Frank P Milburn and constructed by W L McDonald in 1895. The building was destroyed by fire in 1980.



N – Russell County

E – Wayne County

S – Pickett County, Tennessee

W – Cumberland County














Photos taken 2007