Cumberland County

US States / H-L / Kentucky / Cumberland County

Cumberland County is named for the Cumberland River which flows through the county.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Metcalfe County and Adair County

E – Russell County and Clinton County

S – Clay County, Tennessee

W – Monroe County


Created:  December 14, 1798                Map of Kentucky highlighting Cumberland County

County Seat: 

Burkesville  1798 – present


County Courthouse – Burkesville 


Location:  212 North Main Street / Upper River Street

Built:  1934 – 1935

Style:  Colonial Georgian

Architect:  Edgar W Archer of Louisville

Contractor:  J Fred Pace of Marrowbone, Kentucky


Description:  The building faces southwest and is a two story red colored brick structure. The building is located on the landscaped grounds of the Public Square in the center of Burkesville. The southwest front has an entrance flanked by two columns rising to the header above the doorway. Above the doorway is a large arched window on the second story. White colored stones decorate the tops of the windows. A wide horizontal white colored band encircles the building below the roof line.


County Justice Center – Burkesville 




Location:  112 Public Square / Smith Street

Built:  2004 – 2005

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Lyle Associates Architects of Lexington

Contractor:  Codell Construction Company of Winchester


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story dark red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds on the south side of the Public Square in the center of Burkesville with the courthouse on the north side. The north front has a recessed entrance with four high square pillars. The east and west sides are curved with windows. The roof line is flat. The courtroom is located on the second story.


See:  The contractor was Codell Construction Company of Winchester which company constructed many courthouse in Kentucky ( see  Louisville ).


See:  The 40th Judicial Circuit includes Clinton County. Cumberland County and Monroe County.


History:  The county was created in 1798 and Burkesville was selected as the county seat. The second courthouse was built and was burned on January 3, 1865 during the Civil War. The third courthouse was built and was destroyed by fire on December 8, 1933. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1934 to 1935 at a cost of $37,000. The County Justice Center was constructed in 2004 to 2005.




County Courthouse – Burkesville







County Justice Center – Burkesville




Photos taken 2007