Washington County

US States / A-G / Arkansas / Washington County

Washington County is named for George Washington, who was the first President of the United States from 1789 to 1797.


Created:  October 17, 1828

County Seat:        

Fayetteville  1828 – present


County Courthouse – Fayetteville


Location:  280 North College Street / Dickson Street

Built:  1985 – 1986

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Unknown

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces west and is a five story red colored brick and concrete structure. The west front has a semi-circular projection in the center with open sections. The roof line is flat. The building was constructed by the First South Savings & Loan Building and was known as First South Centre. The county purchased the building in 1990.


Old County Courthouse  – Fayetteville 




Location:  4 South College Street / Center Street

Built:  1904 – 1905

Style:  Richardson Romanesque

Architect:  Charles L Thompson

Contractor:  George Donaghey


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story buff colored brick and stone structure.  The west front has a porch on the first story with three arches. There are round towers on each corner with conical roofs. Above the west entrance rises a high square brick tower with clock and steep roof.



N – Benton County

E – Madison County

S – Crawford County

W – Adair County, Oklahoma