Adair County

US States / O-U / Oklahoma / Adair County

Adair County is named for the Adair family of the Cherokee Native American tribe.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Delaware County 

E – Benton County, Arkansas, Washington County, Arkansas and Crawford County, Arkansas

S – Sequoyah County

W – Cherokee County


Created:  July 16, 1907                          Map of Oklahoma highlighting Adair County

County Seat:

Stilwell  1907 – present


County Courthouse – Stilwell 


Location:  220 West Division Street / South 2nd Street

Built:  1931 – 1932

Style:  Art Deco

Architect:  J J Haralson of Haralson & Nelson

Contractor:  J H Reddick


Description:  The building faces north and is a three story buff colored brick, limestone, steel and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Stilwel. The north front has concrete trimmed entrances. Vertical concrete dividers separate the windows on the second story. The roof line is flat. The base of the building is concrete. A one story buff colored brick addition was added on the west side in 1967. The architect was Scott-Peter and Associates and the contractor was C A Self Construction Company. The addition is named as the Adair County Welfare Building.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Adair County Courthouse


History:  The first courthouse was a two story schoolhouse from 1902 to 1908. The second courthouse was a brick structure built in 1908. The third courthouse a stone structure which burned down and the fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1932.




County Courthouse – Stilwell






















County Welfare Building – Stilwell




Photos taken 2010