Nevada County

US States / A-G / Arkansas / Nevada County

Nevada County is named for the State of Nevada, which is the Spanish name for “snow capped” from the first use of the name “Sierra Nevada”.


Created:  March 20, 1871

County Seat:        

Mount Moriah  1871 – 1872

Rosston          1872 – 1877

Prescott          1877 – present


County Courthouse – Prescott


Location:  215 East 2nd Street / East Elm Street

Built:  1963 – 1964

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Weaver & Hiegel

Contractor:  E W Johnson and Blaylock, Cook, Deitz & Associates


Description:  The building faces northwest and is a one story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Prescott. The north front has a high overhang supported by four pillars and a recessed entrance. The windows have vertical white colored panels. The roof line is flat.  The courtroom is located in the center of the building. The courtroom is located in the center of the building. On the south side of the building is the old County Jail.


Note:  The first court met in a church in Mount Moriah in 1871. In 1872, the county seat was moved to Rosston and in 1877 to Prescott. The first courthouse was a two story structure built in 1884. The second courthouse was a two story structure designed by Theo M Sanders and constructed by Falls City Construction Company in 1912. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1963 to 1964.



N – Pike County and Clark County

E – Ouachita County

S – Columbia County and Lafayette County

W – Hempstead County





County Courthouse – Prescott



















Picture 1884 County Courthouse




Picture 1912 County Courthouse




Old County Jail







Photos taken 2010 and 2019