Mason County

US States / M / Michigan / Mason County

Mason County is named for Stevens T Mason, who was Governor of Michigan from 1835 to 1840.


Created:  April 1, 1840

County Seat:

Burr Caswell Farm       1855 – 1861

Little Sauble (Lincoln)  1861 – 1873

Ludington                     1873 – present


County Courthouse – Ludington


Location:  304 East Ludington Avenue / South Rowe Street

Built:  1893 – 1894

Style:  Richardsonian Romanesque

Architect:  Sidney J Osgood of Grand Rapids

Contractor:  Charles T Gatke


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story red colored Milwaukee pressed and Jacobsville sandstone structure. The building has a large arched entrance on the first story. The first story windows are arched. There are numerous peaks along the hip and gable roof. In the center of the roof is a high square clock tower with peaked roof. The base of the building is lighter colored sandstone.  The cut stone was done by J B Goodell & Company of Muskegon.


Note:  The first courthouse was built by Burr Caswell in 1849. The cost for construction of present courthouse was $39,150.


See:  Michigan’s County Courthouses by John Fedynsky



N – Manistee County

E – Lake County

S – Oceana County

 Lake Michigan























Photos taken 2008